MotoGP, Valentino Rossi the master of Mugello, Lorenzo and Doohan in the wake – News

Often referred to by riders and professionals as one of the most beautiful and exciting circuits of the entire MotoGP calendar, the Tuscan ups and downs have given our colors considerable satisfaction, such as the recent triumphs of Danilo Petrucci and Andrea Dovizioso, respectively in 2019 and 2017, or perhaps even more with the seven consecutive victories (2002-2008) of a Valentino Rossi at the height of his epic.

The “Doctor” holds the record for top class victories at Mugello, followed at one distance by Jorge Lorenzo and two by Mick Doohan. But let’s see more specifically who are the most successful riders at Mugello.

Valentino Rossi – 7 consecutive victories, from 2002 to 2008

The Tavullia champion was the absolute master of Mugello for many years, the seven consecutive victories which took place from 2002 to 2008 represented not only the symbol of an evident technical power but also an iconic phenomenon for the world championship. Factors such as the peculiarity of the victory celebrations or the invasion of the track by the “yellow” crowd, have contributed to creating the legend of the Italian rider and consequently an increasing popularity for MotoGP. Among the most beautiful victories we remember that of 2003, when Rossi won ahead of Loris Capirossi and Max Biaggi, going to make up an all-tricolor podium or even that of 2004, when three Italians, Max Biaggi, Loris Capirossi and Marco Melandri, placed behind the nine-time world champion. Without forgetting the 2006 edition, when Rossi won after a splendid fight with Loris Capirossi and his Ducati.

Jorge Lorenzo – 6 successes: 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018

With six victories Jorge Lorenzo is in second position in this special classification. The Majorcan has always loved the technical layout of Mugello, which suited him so much to his fluid and smooth driving style. From 2011 to 2013 Lorenzo dropped a trio of consecutive successes, only to be repeated in the 2015/2016 two-year period. As often happened to him when every aspect from the technical point of view was fine-tuned, Lorenzo almost always won alone at the end of an inexorable escape. However, in contrast to what was said, the 2016 fight with Marquez, resolved by only 19 thousandths, should be noted. The last success on the Italian track came in 2018riding the Ducati, one of the most significant triumphs of the last part of the 5-time world champion’s career.

Michael Doohan – 5 consecutive triumphs from 1994 to 1998

The 5-time world champion, Mick Doohan, has always loved the Tuscan circuit, as evidenced by the consecutive victories obtained from 1994 to 1998. In three out of five editions, the Australian put an Italian driver behind him: Luca Cadalora in 1994 and 1997 and Max Biaggi in 1998.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.